Patient Forum

Print 
Role of the Urologist and Insurance Coverage
CMendey
Posted: Monday, November 02, 2009 11:43 AM

Hello CyberKnife Fans!

I work as a billing/coding rep for a large Urology group in Kentucky. We have been using CyberKnife through the local hospital for about three years but with the deletion of CPT code 61793 last year we have now found we no longer get paid for our participation in CyberKnife therapy other than the "set up".

Several of our Doctors have voiced that since they receive compensation for participation in other forms of brachytherapy then CyberKnife should not be excluded. However, most of the more recent determinations from major medicare carriers such as Highmark (who will take over our region starting in December) see it otherwise. We have no plans to stop recommending it as an option to our patients - so far it has proven to be too good not to, but it does make our physicians a little hesitant to get too involved with it, and our patients a little hesitant to consider it.

Currently National Government Services (our current Medicare carrier) has not made any official decision regarding the role of the Urologist/Surgeon and any reimbursement that we are aware of - they are simply holding our claims pending review.

I am not a clinician, and was wondering if anyone could clarify the role of the Urologist durring treatment delivery itself. So far the argument with the insurance companies seems to be that if they don't "push the button", they don't get paid for it.  Opinions?

Are there other Urology practices having the same or similar issues and what has been the result so far?

radsrus
Posted: Monday, November 02, 2009 3:08 PM

Urologists help define the target and at-risk areas and are involved to variable degrees in the treatment planning. They also take care of the patient after treatment. IN many cases they place the gold fiducials in the prostate.

Radiation oncologists also don't "push the button".